letter to the lover of my depressed body: Please baby, know that spring is coming

letter to the lover of my depressed body: please baby, know that spring is coming

God has been speaking in morse code lately and I’m illiterate
but today I think she spoke through my arrhythmia
I think my heartbeat on your chest sounded like
I’m sorry
that I have been looking like mountains lately
that I have made myself this way
hoping I will become heavy enough to become unmovable from your bed

I understand loving me shouldn’t require hiking boots

how could you want to build a home here?
the place where every peak is named after a dead man?

the heart monitor sounds like:
I know sometimes my body is in constant winter
I cannot expect you to excavate the graveyard in between her thighs
but I cannot help but hope you try

Leave a Reply

